Search

Delivery within 1-3 working days

Free shipping from 39€

Questions? 0711 97 464 010

Menu

food waste

Encyclopedia entry - Nanine Roth - July 17, 2022 - 2 min reading time

Food waste is an outrage from an ethical, ecological and economic point of view. More than 800 million people are starving worldwide, and at the same time around 1.3 billion tonnes of food end up in the rubbish every year. In Germany, the per capita waste is 81.6 kilos of food waste per year, which is 11 million tonnes per year.

Causes of food waste

The appreciation and awareness of the real value of food is lacking in many parts of the world. The causes of food waste lie with consumers as much as with agriculture and the entire supply chain:

Why does the BBD cause food waste?

Consumers often regard the best-before date (BBD) as a fixed expiry date. However, just because day X is written as the best before date on the product, it does not go bad on that day and must be thrown in the rubbish. The best-before date is merely an indication that a food product that has not yet been opened should be guaranteed to retain typical properties such as taste, colour or nutritional values until that day. If you store food correctly, you can often enjoy it for longer. The best-before date is a guideline. Our senses give us more concrete information about whether the food is still edible.

How can food waste be reduced?

Specific planning, such as weekly plans or meal prepping, can reduce waste. Proper storage is also crucial to how long food can be kept. In addition, if you shop hungry, you buy more (than you can possibly eat).

Suche
Menü

lebensmittelverschwendung

Lexikon-Eintrag - Nanine Roth - Juli 17, 2022 - 2 min Lesezeit

Lebensmittelverschwendung ist aus ethischer, ökologischer und ökonomischer Sicht ein Unding. Mehr als 800 Millionen Menschen hungern weltweit, gleichzeitig landen rund 1,3 Milliarden Tonnen Lebensmittel pro Jahr im Müll. In Deutschland liegt die pro Kopf Verschwendung bei 81,6 Kilo Lebensmittelmüll pro Jahr, das sind 11 Millionen Tonnen pro Jahr.

Ursachen der Lebensmittelverschwendung

Die Wertschätzung und das Bewusstsein für den realen Wert der Lebensmittel fehlt in vielen Teilen der Welt. Die Ursachen der Lebensmittelverschwendung liegen bei Verbraucherinnen und Verbrauchern ebenso wie bei der Landwirtschaft und der gesamten Lieferkette:

Warum sorgt das MHD für Lebensmittelverschwendung?

Das Mindesthaltbarkeitsdatum (MHD) wird von Verbraucherinnen und Verbrauchern oftmals als fest stehendes Verfallsdatum gehandhabt. Doch nur weil Tag X als MHD auf dem Produkt steht, wird es nicht an diesem Tag schlecht und muss in den Müll. Das MHD soll lediglich ein Hinweis sein, dass ein noch nicht geöffnetes Lebensmittel bis zu diesem Tag typische Eigenschaften wie Geschmack, Farbe oder Nährwerte garantiert behalten sollte. Wer Lebensmittel korrekt lagert, kann sie häufig länger genießen. Das MHD ist ein Richtwert. Unsere Sinne geben uns eine konkretere Auskunft, ob das Lebensmittel noch genießbar ist.

Wie kann Lebensmittelverschwendung reduziert werden?

Durch eine konkrete Planung wie zum Beispiel Wochenpläne oder Meal Prepping kann Verschwendung reduziert werden. Auch die richtige Lagerung ist ausschlaggebend dafür, wie lange Lebensmittel haltbar sind. Außerdem gilt: Wer hungrig einkauft, kauft mehr (als er/sie eventuell essen kann).