Search
Menu

transparency

Sustainability is not just a word.

At least for us: everything we do is as green, fair and organic as possible. Here we show you where we start and where you stand with us. Transparently, because when it comes to our planet, you shouldn't rely on empty promises.

1. consciousGreen

1.1 Our Bank

Logo GLS Bank

Green finance with GLS BANK

We entrust our business account to GLS Bank. Germany's largest sustainable bank invests exclusively in socially and ecologically meaningful projects, such as renewable energy, housing projects or sustainable business. 

You can find more information on green banks on the blog post Sustainable banks: My green account.

2. our electricity

Logo natural power

Green electricity via Naturstrom

Without electricity, things would look bleak for BewusstGrün. At our office, we use truly green electricity from the company Naturstrom . It is one of the pioneers on the market and has already built hundreds of new power generation plants. Privately, we have had good experiences for more than 10 years.

But transparency also includes the information: green electricity is not yet possible in our new office because we share the space here and are not allowed to decide on the provider ourselves. However, we are working on using green electricity across the board. 

Want to learn more about this topic? Take a look at the blog post Switching to green electricity: little effort, big impact!
Or even better: Become a naturstrom customer too!

3. our server

Logo Raidboxes

Green Hosting via Raidboxes

Our blog is based on WordPress, our shop on Woocomerce. None of this means anything to you? Never mind. It's just important to know that our hosting provider Raidboxes attaches great importance to sustainability. All important information at a glance: 

  • Raidboxes does not only want to be climate neutral, but "climate positive". For each hosted page, a tree is planted in cooperation with Eden.
  • The provider uses only electricity from hydropower
  • In cooperation with Get Mads, Raidboxes supports climate-positive projects in developing countries to offset CO2 emissions

The provider also lives a sustainable corporate philosophy within the company and lives up to its social responsibility - for example through environmentally conscious office products, flat hierarchies, seminars on non-violent communication and employee-adapted working models.

Learn more about Raidboxes and its Green Hosting: Green Hosting via Raidboxes.io* 

4. our packaging

FSC, recycled or grass paper

Most of our shipping boxes are made of grass paper (GreenCor) from Packando.The German-based mill produces paper and cardboard made from 70% recycled paper and 30% grass. Specifically, it is hay that grows locally on green and compensatory land. 

The process works without the use of chemicals and reduces CO2 emissions.

 You can find more information at www.packando.de

Where the use of grass paper is not possible, we use either FSC-certified packaging (currently for our napkin rings) or recycled paper/cardboard.

5. our shipping

Logo DHL Go Green

Climate neutral thanks to DHL Go Green

Our products are shipped via DHL GoGreen. That means concretely:

  •  DHL calculates the CO2 emissions generated and neutralises them in various climate protection projects worldwide.
  • DHL is working to reduce emissions, for example by using bicycles or electric vehicles for deliveries.
  • The goal is to improve CO2 efficiency by 50 per cent by 2025 compared to 2007

Here you can find an overview of the current climate protection projects.


2. our products

2.1 Product selection

At the very beginning, there are various considerations:

  • Is the product itself sustainable at all?
  • Can the world use it?
  • Does this avoid waste?
  • And of course: How can this be produced as green as possible - i.e. organic, fair, recycled, plastic-free, ...?

2.2 Cloth napkins

Our napkins are made from 100 percent organic cotton.

They are a natural product and do not release plastic during the washing process. The GOTS certificate guarantees that no chemical pesticides are used in the cultivation of the raw material; moreover, hazardous and harmful substances are also prohibited in all further processing steps. The seal also ensures that the ILO labour standards are complied with: Discrimination, exploitation and child labour are excluded, a minimum wage and job security are guaranteed.

The BewusstGrün cloth napkins come from Turkey: our partner weaves, dyes and sews the goods. Thanks to production in only one country - from cotton to the finished napkin - the transport routes are short and we noticeably reduce the CO2 footprint. While a conventional textile travels on average around 42,000 km before it reaches the customer, the napkin travels less than 4,000 km - and thus saves around 90% of the CO2 that is produced on average for the transport of a textile .

The packaging of our napkins is also completely plastic-free. We use sturdy paper cardboard boxes.

2.3 Napkin rings

To match the fabric napkins, we offer you our napkin rings made of domestic, FSC-certified beech wood.

Wood is per se more sustainable than plastic or other raw materials: Forests are natural CO2 reservoirs, habitats for animals and plants and recreational space for people. However, the use of wood is only truly sustainable if it comes from ecological forestry.

We can guarantee compliance with strict, environmentally friendly criteria thanks to the FSC seal. It is the most credible seal on the market; its compliance is regularly monitored.

The wood of our napkin rings also comes from Germany and Austria; the production takes place in an Austrian family business. The regional production enables a low ecological footprint and saves a lot of CO2 - so we effectively protect the climate.

Our packaging is also FSC-certified. The napkin rings are made of solid wood and are therefore sturdy; at the same time, they have a delicate finish, which gives them a noble appearance and will give you pleasure for a long time.

2.4 Cork coasters for glasses and pots

Cork is a natural product. Trees do not have to be felled for its production - they are merely peeled and can be harvested again after some time. In this way, the forest habitat is preserved, offers protection for animals and plants, and functions without interruption as a climate-friendly CO2 reservoir.

The cork of our coasters comes from Portugal - as the cork oak does not grow in Central Europe, this is the closest way. As a lightweight product, little CO2 is produced during transport.

Cork is stable - so you can enjoy the coasters for glasses and pots for years. Even after their actual use, they are still valuable and can be used as insulation material, for example. Therefore: Please do not dispose of them in the residual waste, but at the recycling centre.

Our coasters are packed completely plastic-free in paper cardboard boxes.

2.5 Cloth bandages

Conventional sanitary pads from the supermarket are mostly made of plastic - and thus contain softeners and other chemicals, some of which are classified as carcinogenic and have hormonal effects. Therefore, disposable sanitary pads are not only bad for the environment, but possibly also for your health.

Our cloth sanitary towels, on the other hand, are completely plastic-free. They are made of 100% GOTS-certified cotton. They are easy to apply and very convenient to use.

Our sanitary pads are currently sewn in Thuringia and then packed in Stuttgart. From here, we send your product to you in plastic-free packaging in a climate-neutral way.

2.6 Community masks

The BewusstGrün masks are made from certified organic cotton (kbA): The fabrics are both GOTSand bluesign certified and are woven and dyed in Austria. Further processing takes place in Portugal and Poland. 

Our Austrian producer pays attention to sustainability in all production steps: The consumption of water and energy has been significantly reduced in recent years. The electricity required is produced by our own hydroelectric power plants, which generate energy in excess of demand and feed it into the municipal grid. 

The community masks are made of very high quality. They can be washed at up to 60°C and have a long life. This means they make a significant contribution to avoiding waste.

2.7 Other products / external brands

You don't always have to reinvent the wheel: If we come across a sustainable product that excites us, we're happy to add it to our range - so you can get several great things in one order.

You can be sure that we stand behind it: Plastic-free razors, for example, save an incredible amount of waste over the years; the Guppyfriend wash bag helps you avoid microfibres in waste water.


3. seal

3.1 GOTS seal: Global Organic Textile Standard

Thefollowing product bears the GOTS seal: Cloth napkins

GOTS

GOTS stands for Global Organic Textile Standard; it is primarily an environmental label, but also includes a whole range of important social criteria. In order for a product to carry the GOTS seal, all specifications along the entire supply chain must be complied with - from the cultivation of the cotton to production to details such as the information on the washing label. It is a textile seal and, in the case of clothing, one of the best-known seals that refer to fair and, above all, organic production. But it can and should also be used for towels and other products that consist of at least 70 percent organic natural fibres - such as cloth napkins.

The social requirements guarantee compliance with the so-called core labour standards of the International Labour Organisation (ILO), i.e. child labour, excessive working hours, forced labour, etc. are excluded. The employees receive the respective minimum wage of the country.

In addition, independent inspections are carried out on a regular basis to ensure that all requirements are met, so that you as a customer can rely on compliance with the standards.

But the GOTS seal guarantees even more: due to the high requirements for the certified products, GOTS also stands for high quality

You can read more about the GOTS seal in the blog post.

3.2 FSC

Thefollowing product bears this seal: Napkin rings

FSC Logo

FSC stands for responsible, sustainable forestry.

Actors from different sectors ensure that strict ecological, social and economic criteria are observed in the management of the forests. Compliance with the regulations is checked and ensured at regular intervals.

You can read more about the FSC seal in the blog post.

3.3 bluesign

Thefollowing product bears this seal: Masks (fabric)

Bluesign seal

The bluesign seal is considered one of the strictest in the textile industry. It is issued, monitored and controlled by the Swiss bluesign technologies AG, founded in 2000. The focus is on production that is as free of pollutants as possible, low resource consumption and a safe workplace for the producers. Numerous chemicals are banned in textile finishing. The aim is to protect the environment, protect employees and produce a safe product for consumers.

You can also find more information about bluesign on the bluesign.com website.


Contact us!

Do you have any questions, suggestions or criticism? Feel free to contact us directly!

Suche

Lieferung innerhalb von 1-3 Werktagen

Versandkostenfrei ab 39€

Fragen? 0711 97 464 010

Menü

transparenz

Nachhaltigkeit ist nicht nur ein Wort.

Zumindest für uns: Alles, was wir machen, ist so grün, fair und bio wie möglich. Hier zeigen wir dir, wo wir ansetzen und woran du bei uns bist. Ganz transparent, denn wenn es um unseren Planeten geht, sollte man sich nicht auf leere Versprechungen verlassen.

1. BewusstGrün

1.1 Unsere Bank

Logo GLS Bank

Grüne Finanzen mit der GLS BANK

Unser Geschäftskonto vertrauen wir der GLS Bank an. Die größte nachhaltige Bank Deutschlands investiert ausschließlich in soziale und ökologisch sinnvolle Projekte, wie erneuerbare Energie, Wohnprojekte oder nachhaltige Wirtschaft. 

Mehr Informationen zu grünen Banken findest du auf dem Blogbeitrag Nachhaltige Banken: Mein grünes Konto.

2. Unser Strom

Logo Naturstrom

Grüner Strom via Naturstrom

Ohne Strom sähe es für BewusstGrün düster aus. In unserer Geschäftsstelle nutzen wir wirklich grünen Ökostrom von der Firma Naturstrom. Sie gehört zu den Pionieren auf dem Markt und hat bereits Hunderte neuer Stromerzeugungsanlagen erbaut. Privat haben wir schon seit mehr als 10 Jahren gute Erfahrungen gemacht.

Zur Transparenz gehört aber auch die Info: In unserem neuen Büro ist Ökostrom bislang nicht möglich, weil wir uns die Fläche hier teilen und nicht selbst über den Anbieter entscheiden dürfen. Wir arbeiten aber daran, Ökostrom flächendeckend einzusetzen. 

Du möchtest mehr über dieses Thema erfahren? Schau dir den Blogbeitrag Umsteigen auf Ökostrom: Wenig Aufand, große Wirkung an!
Oder noch besser: Werde ebenfalls KundIn bei naturstrom!*

3. Unser Server

Logo Raidboxes

Green Hosting via Raidboxes

Unser Blog basiert auf WordPress, unser Shop auf Woocomerce. Das sagt dir alles nichts? Macht nichts. Wichtig ist nur zu wissen, dass unser Hosting-Anbieter Raidboxes großen Wert auf Nachhaltigkeit legt. Alle wichtigen Infos auf einen Blick: 

  • Raidboxes möchte nicht nur klimaneutral sein, sondern “klimapositiv”. Für jede gehostete Seite wird daher in Kooperation mit Eden ein Baum gepflanzt
  • Der Anbieter verwendet ausschließlich Strom aus Wasserkraft
  • In Kooperation mit Get Mads unterstützt Raidboxes klimapositive Projekte in Entwicklungsländern, um den CO2-Ausstoß auszugleichen

Auch firmenintern lebt der Anbieter eine nachhaltige Unternehmensphilosophie und wird seiner sozialen Verantwortung gerecht – etwa durch umweltbewusste Büroprodukte, flache Hierarchien, Seminare zur Gewaltfreien Kommunikation und mitarbeiterangepasste Arbeitsmodelle

Hier erfährst du mehr über Raidboxes und dessen Green Hosting: Green Hosting via Raidboxes.io* 

4. Unsere Verpackung

FSC-, Recycling- oder Graspapier

Der größte Teil unserer Versandkartons bestehen aus Graspapier (GreenCor) der Firma Packando.Die in Deutschland ansässige Fabrik produziert Papier und Pappe, das zu 70% aus Recyclingpapier und zu 30% aus Gras hergestellt wird. Konkret handelt es sich um Heu, das lokal auf Grün- und Ausgleichsflächen wächst. 

Das Verfahren funktioniert ohne den Einsatz von Chemikalien und verringert den CO2-Ausstoß.

 Mehr Infos findet du unter www.packando.de

An den Stellen, an denen der Einsatz von Graspapier nicht möglich ist, verwenden wir entweder eine FSC-zertifizierte Verpackung (aktuell bei unseren Serviettenringen) oder Recyclingpapier/-karton.

5. Unser Versand

Logo DHL Go Green

Klimaneutral dank DHL Go Green

Unsere Produkte werden via DHL GoGreen versandt. Das bedeutet konkret:

  •  DHL berechnet die anfallenden CO2-Emissionen und neutralisiert sie in diversen Klimaschutzprojekten weltweit
  • DHL arbeitet daran, anfallende Emissionen zu verringern: Etwa indem die Zustellung durch Fahrrad oder Elektromobilität erfolgt
  • Ziel ist es, bis 2025 die CO2-Effizienz um 50 Prozent gegenüber 2007
    verbessern

Hier findest du eine Übersicht über die aktuellen Klimaschutzprojekte.


2. Unsere Produkte

2.1 Produktauswahl

Ganz am Anfang stehen verschiedene Überlegungen:

  • Ist das Produkt selbst überhaupt nachhaltig?
  • Kann die Welt das gebrauchen?
  • Wird dadurch Müll vermieden?
  • Und natürlich: Wie kann das möglichst grün – also bio, fair, recycelt, plastikfrei, … – hergestellt werden?

2.2 Stoffservietten

Unsere Servietten bestehen zu 100 Prozent aus Bio-Baumwolle.

Sie sind ein Naturprodukt und setzen beim Waschvorgang kein Plastik frei. Das GOTS-Zertifikat garantiert, dass beim Anbau des Rohstoffs keine chemischen Pestizide zum Einsatz kommen; darüber hinaus sind auch in allen weiteren Verarbeitungsschritte gefährliche und schädliche Substanzen verboten. Das Siegel stellt ebenso sicher, dass die ILO-Arbeitsnormen eingehalten werden: Diskriminierung, Ausbeutung und Kinderarbeit sind ausgeschlossen, ein Mindestlohn und Arbeitsplatzsicherheit wird gewährleistet.

Die BewusstGrün-Stoffservietten stammen aus der Türkei: Unser Partner webt, färbt und vernäht die Ware. Dank der Produktion in nur einem Land – von der Baumwolle zur fertigen Serviette – sind die Transportwege kurz und wir verringern den CO2-Fußabdruck spürbar. Während ein herkömmliches Textil im Durchschnitt rund 42.000 km zurücklegt, ehe es bei den KundInnen ankommt, legt die Serviette  weniger als 4.000 km zurück – und spart somit rund 90% des CO2, das im Durchschnitt für den Transport eines Textils anfällt. 

Auch die Verpackung unserer Servietten ist komplett plastikfrei. Wir verwenden stabile Papierkartonagen.

2.3 Serviettenringe

Passend zu den Stoffservietten bieten wir dir unsere Serviettenringe aus heimischem, FSC-zertifiziertem Buchenholz an.

Holz ist per se nachhaltiger als Plastik oder andere Rohstoffe: Wälder sind natürliche CO2-Speicher, Lebensraum für Tiere und Pflanzen und Erholungsraum für Menschen. Wirklich nachhaltig ist die Verwendung von Holz jedoch nur, wenn es aus einer ökologischen Forstwirtschaft stammt.

Die Einhaltung von strengen, umweltschonenden Kriterien können wir dank dem FSC-Siegel garantieren. Es ist das glaubwürdigste Siegel auf dem Markt; seine Einhaltung wird regelmäßig kontrolliert.

Das Holz unserer Serviettenringe stammt zudem aus Deutschland und Österreich; die Herstellung erfolgt in einem österreichischen Familienbetrieb. Die regionale Produktion ermöglicht einen geringen ökologischen Fußabdruck und spart viel CO2 ein – so schützten wir effektiv das Klima.

Auch unsere Verpackung ist FSC-zertifiziert. Die Serviettenringe bestehen aus Massivholz und sind daher stabil; gleichzeitig sind sie filigran verarbeiten, wirken dadurch edel und machen dir lange Freude.

2.4 Korkuntersetzer für Gläser und Töpfe

Kork ist ein Naturprodukt. Für seine Herstellung müssen Bäume nicht gefällt werden – sie werden lediglich geschält und können nach einiger Zeit erneut geerntet werden. So bleibt der Lebensraum Wald erhalten, bietet Schutz für Tiere und Pflanzen und fungiert unterbrechungslos als klimaschonender CO2-Speicher.

Das Kork unserer Untersetzer kommt aus Portugal – da die Korkeiche nicht in Mitteleuropa wächst, ist das der nächste Weg. Als leichtes Produkt fällt beim Transport wenig CO2 an.

Kork ist stabil – an den Untersetzern für Gläser und Töpfe kannst du also jahrelang Freude haben. Auch nach ihrer eigentlichen Verwendung sind sie noch wertvoll und können beispielsweise als Dämmmaterial genutzt werden. Deshalb: Bitte nicht im Restmüll, sondern auf dem Wertstoffhof entsorgen.

Unsere Untersetzer werden komplett plastikfrei in Papierkartonagen verpackt.

2.5 Stoffbinden

Konventionelle Binden aus dem Supermarkt bestehen zum größten Teil aus Plastik – und beinhalten damit Weichmacher und andere Chemikalien, die zum Teil als krebserregend und hormonell wirksam eingestuft werden. Daher sind die Einwegbinden nicht nur schlecht für die Umwelt, sondern möglicherweise auch für deine Gesundheit.

Unsere Stoffbinden sind dagegen komplett plastikfrei. Sie bestehen zu 100% aus GOTS-zertifizierter Baumwolle. Ihre Anwendung ist einfach, die Verwendung sehr bequem.

Aktuell werden unsere Binden in Thüringen genäht und anschließend in Stuttgart verpackt. Von hier aus versenden wir dir dein Produkt in einer plastikfreien Verpackung klimaneutral zu.

2.6 Community-Masken

Die BewusstGrün-Masken werden aus zertifizierter Bio-Baumwolle (kbA) hergestellt: Die Stoffe sind sowohl GOTS– als auch bluesign-zertifiziert und werden in Österreich gewoben und gefärbt. Die weitere Verarbeitung geschieht in Portugal und Polen. 

Unser österreichischer Produzent achtet auf Nachhaltigkeit in allen Produktionsschritten: Der Verbrauch an Wasser und Energie konnte in den letzten Jahren deutlich gesenkt werden. Der benötigte Strom wird von eigenen Wasserkraftwerken produziert, die über den Bedarf hinaus Energie gewinnen und in das kommunale Netz einspeisen. 

Die Community-Masken sind sehr hochwertig verarbeitet. Sie sind bei bis zu 60°C waschbar und haben eine lange Lebensdauer. Dadurch tragen sie wesentlich zur Vermeidung von Müll bei.

2.7 Weitere Produkte / Fremdmarken

Man muss das Rad nicht immer neu erfinden: Wenn wir auf ein nachhaltiges Produkt stoßen, das uns begeistert, nehmen wir es gerne in unser Sortiment auf – so kannst du mit einer Bestellung gleich mehrere tolle Dinge erhalten.

Dabei kannst du sicher sein, dass wir dahinter stehen: Plastikfreie Rasierhobel zum Beispiel sparen über die Jahre unglaublich viel Müll ein; der Guppyfriend-Waschbeutel hilft dir, Mikrofasern im Abwasser zu vermeiden.


3. Siegel

3.1 GOTS-Siegel: Global Organic Textile Standard

Folgendes Produkt trägt das GOTS-Siegel: Stoffservietten

GOTS

GOTS steht für Global Organic Textile Standard; es ist in erster Linie ein Umweltsiegel, das jedoch auch eine ganze Reihe wichtiger Sozialkriterien beinhaltet. Damit ein Produkt das GOTS-Siegel tragen kann, müssen alle Vorgaben auf der gesamten Lieferkette eingehalten werden – vom Anbau der Baumwolle über die Produktion bis hin zu Details wie den Angaben auf dem Waschetikett. Es ist ein Textilsiegel und bei Kleidung eines der bekanntesten Siegel, die auf eine faire und v.a. biologische Produktion verweisen. Aber auch bei Handtüchern und anderen Produkten, die zu mindestens 70 Prozent aus biologischen Naturfasern bestehen, kann und sollte es genutzt werden – wie etwa bei Stoffservietten.

Die sozialen Vorgaben garantieren die Einhaltung der sogenannten Kernarbeitsnormen der International Labour Organisation (ILO), d.h. Kinderarbeit, überlange Arbeitszeiten, Zwangsarbeit usw. sind ausgeschlossen. Die MitarbeiterInnen erhalten den jeweiligen Mindestlohn des Landes.

In unabhängigen Kontrollen wird zudem regelmäßig überprüft, ob alle Vorgaben reingehalten werden, so dass du dich als KundIn auf die Einhaltung der Standards verlassen kannst.

Das GOTS-Siegel garantiert aber noch mehr:  Durch die hohen Anforderungen an die zertifizierten Produkte steht GOTS gleichzeitig für eine hohe Qualität

Mehr über das GOTS-Siegel erfährst du im Blogbeitrag dazu.

3.2 FSC

Folgendes Produkt trägt dieses Siegel: Serviettenringe

FSC Logo

FSC steht für eine verantwortungsvolle, nachhaltige Forstwirtschaft.

Akteure aus verschiedenen Bereichen stellen sicher, dass in der Bewirtschaftung der Wälder strenge ökologische, soziale und ökonomische Kriterien eingehalten werden. Die Einhaltung der Regelungen wird in regelmäßigen Abständen überprüft und sichergestellt.

Mehr über das FSC-Siegel kannst du im Blogbeitrag nachlesen.

3.3 bluesign

Folgendes Produkt trägt dieses Siegel: Masken (Stoff)

Siegel Bluesign

Das bluesign-Siegel gilt als eines der strengsten in der Textilbranche. Es wird von der 2000 gegründeten, schweizerischen bluesign technologies AG herausgegeben, überwacht und kontrolliert. Der Fokus liegt auf einer möglichst schadstofffreien Produktion, einem geringen Ressourcenverbrauch und einem sicheren Arbeitsplatz für die Produzierenden. Zahlreiche Chemikalien sind bei der Textilveredelung verboten. Ziel ist es, die Umwelt zu schonen, die Mitarbeitenden zu schützen und ein sicheres Produkt für die VerbraucherInnen herzustellen.

Mehr Informationen zu bluesign findest du auch auf der Webseite bluesign.com.


Kontaktiere uns!

Du hast Fragen, Anregungen, Kritik? Melde dich gerne direkt bei uns!