Search

Delivery within 1-3 working days

Free shipping from 39€

Questions? 0711 97 464 010

Menu

overfishing

Lexicon entry - Veronika - August 19, 2022 - 1 min reading time
Fish school

More is taken from the sea than can grow back: That is, very briefly and succinctly explained, overfishing.

What is overfishing?

Overfishing means that too much fishing catches so many fish from the seas that fish stocks can no longer replenish themselves and are in serious decline. The numbers are frightening: in 2006, 63 percent of fish were taken from the high seas. 87 percent of fish species were extinct, overfished or in danger of collapse. Fish stocks in the world's oceans lack the opportunity to recover.

Why does overfishing occur?

One problem is the increasingly better and more modern ships that detect and capture schools of fish through their sophisticated sonar system. With this technology, the animals are also in former retreats such as coral reefs and greater depths on.

There is a lack of an overarching policy for sustainable use of the oceans and sustainable fisheries management. And even though the effort is getting bigger: It continues to be worth it because the demand for fish is so great. Here, the opportunity lies in the hands of consumers, who do not support problems such as overfishing, illegal fishing and bycatch with a plant-based diet.

What is the problem of overfishing?

Marine ecosystems are undergoing major changes due to overfishing, and the food chain has been disrupted. The stocks of large prey hunters such as tuna, swordfish and cod have been reduced by 90 percent since the start of industrial fishing in the 1950s.

If such a profound change occurs in the food chain, it will lead to a change in the entire marine environment. One consequence could be record jellyfish abundance.

Suche
Menü

überfischung

Lexikon-Eintrag - Veronika - August 19, 2022 - 1 min Lesezeit
Fischschwarm

Es wird dem Meer mehr genommen, als nachwachsen kann: Das ist, ganz kurz und prägnant erklärt, Überfischung.

Was ist Überfischung?

Überfischung bedeutet, dass zu viel Fischerei so viel Fisch aus den Meeren fängt, dass die Fischbestände nicht mehr nachwachsen können und stark schwinden. Die Zahlen sind erschreckend: Im Jahr 2006 wurden 63 Prozent der Fische aus der Hochsee entnommen. 87 Prozent der Fischarten waren ausgestorben, überfischt oder drohten zu kollabieren. Den Fischbeständen in den Weltmeeren fehlt die Möglichkeit, sich zu erholen.

Wieso kommt es zur Überfischung?

Ein Problem sind die immer besseren und moderneren Schiffe, die durch ihr ausgeklügeltes Sonar-System Fischschwärme aufspüren und einfangen. Mit dieser Technik werden die Tiere auch in ehemaligen Rückzugsgebieten wie Korallenriffe und größeren Tiefen auf.

Es fehlt eine übergreifende Politik für einen nachhaltigen Umgang mit den Meeren und ein nachhaltiges Fischereimanagement. Und auch wenn der Aufwand immer größer wird: Es lohnt sich weiterhin, weil die Nachfrage nach Fisch so groß ist. Hier liegt die Chance in den Händen der Verbraucher:innen, die mit einer pflanzlichen Ernährung Probleme wie Überfischung, illegale Fischerei und Beifang nicht unterstützen.

Was ist das Problem der Überfischung?

Die Ökosysteme der Meere verändern sich durch die Überfischung stark, die Nahrungskette ist gestört. Die Bestände großer Beutejäger wie Thunfisch, Schwertfisch und Kabeljau reduzierten seit Beginn der industriellen Fischerei in den 1950er Jahren zu 90 Prozent.

Wenn ein solch tiefgreifender Wandel in der Nahrungskette erfolgt, führt das zu einer Veränderung der gesamten Meeresumwelt. Eine Folge könnten Rekordvorkommen von Quallen sein.