Search
Menu

zero waste

Encyclopedia entry - Nanine Roth - July 23, 2021 - 2 min reading time
Shopping basket

Zero waste as a major goal: for many people, waste avoidance is becoming increasingly important. What exactly does the term mean and how can it be implemented?

Definition: What does Zero Waste mean?

"Zero waste is a lifestyle or philosophy that aims to produce as little waste as possible . The motivation behind this is not to waste resources and to avoid environmental pollution.

The goal of Zero or at least Less Waste (= "less waste") is achieved through recycling & upcycling, repairing and re-gifting, but also through a change in purchasing behaviour, for example by doing without certain products

Zero waste is basically a very sustainable consumer behaviour, which is also reflected in the many unpacked shops that have opened their doors in recent years. Since 2016, shops where it is possible to shop without packaging have been on the rise; by now, they can be found in almost every major city.

But companies can also take the zero-waste idea into account and already take appropriate steps when developing goods and packaging: Recycled materials, a recyclable product and the avoidance of unnecessary packaging are important steps for a functioning circular economy.

Sign Reduce Reuse Recycle and Yarn
To avoid waste: Reduce - Reuse - Recycle

Why Zero Waste?

The idea behind Zero Waste is a radical reduction of waste in order to save resources and minimise pollution. This is especially true for plastic products, which are made from petroleum and whose recycling is still very poor - plastic waste can therefore be found everywhere. (see also: 9 Facts about Plastic | (Micro-)Plastic and its Consequences)

Bottling food
Unpacked shops: Buy as much as you need in your own container.

Zero Waste is an ideal that most consumers cannot achieve.
It is difficult to achieve in our culture, where products are transported long distances, are supposed to be available all year round, are designed for "to go" and can be delivered free to the door.

However, it is certainly possible to implement a lifestyle of Less Waste or to achieve Zero Waste at least in individual areas of life - for example, by switching to home-made cleaning products in the household or by purchasing individual food groups such as pasta, rice, oatmeal in unpackaged shops.

By the way, the filling bags made of washable paper in our online shop are perfect for this.

How can I live Zero Waste / Less Waste?

Here are simple tips to get you started:

At the supermarket:

For commodities:

Suche
Menü

zero waste

Lexikon-Eintrag - Nanine Roth - Juli 23, 2021 - 2 min Lesezeit
Einkaufskorb

Zero Waste als großes Ziel: Für viele Menschen wird Müllvermeidung immer wichtiger. Was genau meint der Begriff und wie lässt er sich umsetzen?

Definition: Was bedeutet Zero Waste?

„Zero Waste“ (zu Deutsch „Null Müll“) ist ein Lebensstil oder eine Philosophie mit dem Ziel, möglichst keinen Müll zu erzeugen. Dahinter steht die Motivation, keine Ressourcen zu verschwenden und Umweltverschmutzung zu vermeiden.

Das Ziel von Zero oder zumindest Less Waste (= „weniger Müll“) wird durch Recycling & Upcycling, Reparieren und Weiterverschenken erreicht, aber auch durch ein verändertes Kaufverhalten, also etwa durch den Verzicht bestimmter Produkte

Zero Waste ist im Grunde ein sehr nachhaltiges Konsumverhalten, das sich auch in den vielen Unverpackt-Läden widerspiegelt, die in den letzten Jahren ihre Türen geöffnet haben. Seit 2016 sind Läden, in denen ein Einkauf verpackungsfrei möglich ist, auf dem Vormarsch; mittlerweile gibt es sie in fast jeder größeren Stadt.

Aber auch Unternehmen können dem Zero-Waste-Gedanken Rechnung tragen und schon beim Entwickeln von Ware und Verpackung entsprechende Schritte unternehmen: Recycelte Materialien, ein recycelbares Produkt und die Vermeidung von unnötigen Verpackungen sind wichtige Schritte für eine funktionierende Kreislaufwirtschaft.

Schild Reduce Reuse Recycle und Garn
Um Müll zu vermeiden: Reduce – Reuse – Recycle

Warum Zero Waste?

Die Idee hinter Zero Waste ist eine radikale Reduktion von Abfällen, um Ressourcen einzusparen und Umweltverschmutzung zu minimieren. Das gilt insbesondere für Plastikprodukte, die aus Erdöl hergestellt werden und deren Recycling immer noch sehr mangelhaft stattfindet – Plastikmüll findet man daher überall. (siehe auch: 9 Fakten über Plastik | (Mikro-)Plastik und seine Folgen)

Lebensmittel abfüllen
Unverpacktläden: So viel kaufen, wie man braucht, im eigenen Gefäß.

Zero Waste ist ein Ideal, das die meisten Konsument:innen nicht erreichen können.
Es ist in unserer Kultur, in der Produkte über lange Wege transportiert werden, das ganze Jahr verfügbar sein sollen, für „to go“ gestaltet sind und frei Haus geliefert werden können, schwer umsetzbar.

Es ist aber durchaus möglich, einen Lebensstil des  Less Waste umzusetzen oder Zero Waste zumindest in einzelnen Lebensbereichen zu erreichen – etwa durch eine Umstellung auf selbst hergestellte Reinigungsmittel im Haushalt oder durch den Einkauf von einzelnen Lebensmittelgruppen wie Nudeln, Reis, Haferflocken in Unverpacktläden.

Dafür eignen sich übrignens wunderbar die Füll-Tüten aus waschbarem Papier in unserem Online-Shop.

Wie kann ich Zero Waste / Less Waste leben?

Hier sind einfache Tipps fürs den Start:

Im Supermarkt:

Bei Gebrauchsgegenständen: